A is for Accountability

Tonight's dinner: Sweet and Savory Stuffed Acorn Squash

So here we go. I paid $20 to be part of a Paleo Challenge if anything but to have even more accountability. As I have yet to get this blog going or even share it with the world I realized that the motivation I felt a few weeks ago has slowly been disappearing. It’s easy to feel motivated coming off a holiday hangover but now that I’m back in the swing of things with a semi-regular workout routine and an equally semi-healthy diet, I am finding myself falling back into the status quo. And that was not my plan.

In a few weeks two great gyms, Crossfit Odyssey and Crossfit Takeover, will become one awesome powerhouse, so in the meantime we’ve slowly been integrating members, hitting the other gym’s WODs and, most recently, sharing in their Paleo Challenge. (Great info on paleo on Robb Wolf’s site here). Odyssey did a challenge back in October, but I fell off that wagon almost as quickly as I hopped on. With my newly found desire to be the biggest TFBA I can be, I realized one of my major weaknesses is food. Don’t get me wrong, I am overall fairly healthly and follow a paleo-based guideline. But I crave sugar, snacks, beer and wine. Not in a really overindulgent way, but enough to where I know I’m not reaping the many benefits of a Paleo diet. In addition to the countless health benefits (heart disease, high blood pressure, diabetes, digestive problems to name a few) taking soy, wheat, grains, sugars, processed foods and dairy out of your diet is also said to promote dental health, good skin, lower depression and anxiety, improve energy levels and keep your body fat low and healthy. Looking at all these benefits on paper, are the handfuls of peanut m&ms really worth it? I’ve listed some of my favorite website resources on the side. Find the recipe to tonight’s dinner (pictured above) here.

So the challenge officially started Saturday, but I officially start today. While I know the “rules” call for 100% paleo for 30 days, I will be realistic and honest with myself. Occasional glass of wine=okay. My normal evening consists of at least one to two (and often more) glasses of wine, although sometimes I switch it up with beer. So my change will be drastically reducing this, replacing it with hot tea, especially as I get closer to bedtime. Other than that small (IMO) cheat, game on. I did my benchmark workouts Saturday and am anxious and excited to see the direct correlation between my diet and my performance. It’s time to get off the plateau.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Hawkins
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 20:33:25

    Kristin, seriously, don’t know how I found this blog. I think I googled TFBA and this popped up. Divine Intervention? Very impressive. As I mentioned the other night at Heather’s you have helped motivate me. I can’t seem to get in the right mind set for this healthy eating. I am not terrible BUT my main issue is sugar. If I can decrease my sugar intake by 50% I would be happy. I think if I know I can have a little then I don’t feel deprived. I also need to go grocery shopping and make sure I have only good stuff available! Great job on the blog. Keep writing! Carol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

